Chronicles of Less Urban Living, Fresh from In the Night Farm

Five Days

I’ve been busy.  It has been all I could do to jot down my food journal, which you’ll find below.  You’ll see how I navigated the ubiquitous “work food” problem, elected for less physical stress in the face of other stressors, and thoroughly enjoyed a week of food and motion despite the frenzy.  I’m finally learning.

PBC Day 7

Fuel:  Coffee with heavy cream.  Grassfed burger (no bun) with grilled tomatillo salsa, sauteed onions, and cotija; sweet potato roasted in coconut oil; grilled asparagus.  Grilled lamb ribs with homemade barbecue sauce; baked sweet potato with butter; squash ribbons with sizzled garlic and sage leaves.

Workout:  None whatsoever.  I was busy checking out my new camper, plus I was dealing with a minor cold on top of seasonal allergies.  AaaaCHOO!  It’s nice that farm life requires at least forth minutes of general activity per day, no matter what else is going on.

PBC Day 8

Fuel:  Scrambled eggs with hot sauce.  The meat and lettuce off a Quiznos sandwich (I was at an all-day meeting, with lunch provided.  In anticipation of the usual lunch boxes, I brought a plastic fork and was able to dissect my sandwich with relative grace.  I donated my chips and cookie to my endurance-athlete friend and colleague, wincing sympathetically as I did so.)  Nuts and dried cherries.  (Supplementary lunch supplies!)  Kippered herring.  Primal enchiladas (beef and sauce, no tortillas, topped with cheese); plantains oven-fried in grassfed butter.  Shiraz.

Workout:  Bodyweight.  4x rotation of pushups, thrusters, pullups, planks, side planks.  Toss in some farm chores and an evening walk with my staghound, Wyrsa.

PBC Day 9

Fuel:  Coffee with heavy cream.  Eggs over easy with primal enchiladas (beef and sauce) topped with grassfed cheddar.  Watermelon.  BBQ lamb ribs, roasted sweet potatoes, grilled asparagus and garlic.  Blackberry, mango, and banana with cinnamon and heavy cream.  Gin on the rocks.

 I find it interesting that I’m eating more fruit lately than I normally do.  Usually, I come in around 2-3 servings per week — not per day!  I’m guessing it’s due to the end-of-summer abundance of fresh, local fruit combined with an uptick in my workout schedule.  No biggie.  Fruit isn’t the devil, especially for individuals who are already lean, but it’s an observation worth noting.

Workout:  Heavy day!  5x rotation of backsquats, military presses, deadlifts, and bench presses.  Also, a generally active day as I prepared for next weekend’s 5-day endurance race and moved around some hay bales to make way for another delivery.

PBC Day 10

Fuel:  Coffee with heavy cream.  Four scrambled eggs with hot sauce.  (Easily ignored pile of bagals and sweetened cream cheese at staff retreat.)  BBQ pulled pork, potato salad, fresh fruit, and a few veggies.  (Passed on the buns, chips, cookies, and brownies.  Relatively easy to navigate, as catered lunches go, though I’m sure there was plenty of sugar in the pork.)  Raw nuts and a few dried cherries.  Ground lamb curry and coconut-roasted sweet potato.  Gin.  (Ahhh, so nice to be home alone after all that slow-paced, touch-feely team-building, tools-for-idiots-who-don’t-know-how-to-plan stuff.)

Workout:  Just farm chores and a long, barefoot walk with Wyrsa.  Wore as little clothings as possible to soak up the evening sun.

PBC Day 11

Fuel:  Coffee with heavy cream.  Breakfast (at 11:00am — back on my own schedule, thank heavens!  Leftover bagals in the breakroom held little appeal.  The addiction is broken!) of leftover sweet potatoes and enchilada sauce with ground beef.  A few nuts and berries in late afternoon.  Lamburger with onions sauteed in butter, sliced tomato, sweet and yukon oven fries with seasoned salt and primal barbeque sauce.  Gin.

Workout:  Just chores and another walk with Wyrsa, again barefoot-ish (with Soft Stars) and wearing Vitamin D gear.  Part of me wanted to do more, but the other (smarter) part recognized that I’d had quite a stressful day at work, less-than-ideal sleep, and a weekend of hay stacking ahead.  Just walk, dummy!  So I did.

Leave a Reply

