Chronicles of Less Urban Living, Fresh from In the Night Farm

On Hold

I am currently on hold with BCOR Fitness. 

I have been on hold for eight minutes now.  I have not spoken to a live body yet.  Their hold music seems to have been obtained by holding a cassette recorder up to the speaker in a Hilton elevator.

…nine minutes…

According to the company’s website, I’m supposed to talk to a representative to “schedule my first class” now that I’ve created my online account.  Of course, none of this information was posted clearly up-front as part of the Living Social offer or the BCOR site, which basically says “just show up!” 

I decided to call to make sure “just show up” was right.  Apparently not.

…ten minutes…

I hope they let us start on December 2 as planned.  Later would probably be better for me, actually, since I’m just now healing up my stress-fractured foot (too much barefoot running without adequate preparation).  But, my mom has travel planned for January and may not be as flexible on when our 30-day voucher deal starts.

…eleven minutes…

Ooh!  Someone picked up!

“Alex” has me scheduled for 6am Friday.  Go Alex.  Do I want to add a BCOR Diet Program to my order?  No, Alex.

I’m supposed to bring water and a towel.  No need to come early for any kind of orientation.  Hmm.  This is slightly alarming.  I’m not worried about myself, because I know enough about form and reasonable programming to keep myself safe, but what about a beginner?  Maybe that’s figured into the instructor’s style.

________

AAAAAND…rewind.  Just as I was about to hit “post,” I got ahold of my mom.  We agreed to delay our start date to December 28th so my foot can be fully recovered.  I think this is a very good idea.  It took 3 months of healing time to get to this “slightly tender” state; the idea of a major setback is not appealing.

Fortunately for me, “Chad” answered BCOR’s phone after only 2 minutes on hold.  He was very nice about making the switch.  So, Wednesday the 28th it is.  And my opinion of BCOR’s customer service is somewhat mollified. 

Someone should give Chad a raise.

6 responses

  1. dragonmamma

    Go Chad!

    Sheesh, let’s hope they get their shit together for your first boot-camp experience. I’ve been attending a boot-camp for about 4 years now; obviously, I love it.

    November 30, 2011 at 3:34 pm

    • I hope so, Dragon! We’ll see how “local” BCOR compares with the national peeps…

      November 30, 2011 at 3:36 pm

  2. Morning & question on the stress fracture. How did you get it diagnosed or is this a repeat issue & you’ve ID’d the symptoms?
    I have various things going on with my feet & after a brief sprint session last week, I have what I believe to be a stress fracture in the top outside of the left foot. When this has happened before, a simple xray never shows anything. But with wearing stiff shoes for a few weeks, the pain goes away & I can return to VFFs. But then I’ll sprint in softball or playing with the dogs and it comes right back.
    Soo…all that. Ha. How did you get a good diagnoses?
    thx!

    December 1, 2011 at 8:12 am

  3. As a small business owner who has run a Groupon, reviews like this are somewhat annoying. The buyers want a great deal and then are surprised that hundreds of other people had the same idea and purchased the deal. This is the exact reason that I don’t stand in line at midnight for Black Friday deals. Of course it’s going to be a madhouse, and the consumer just has to realize that.

    December 8, 2011 at 4:18 pm

    • Umm…
      1. The coupon ran weeks before the phone call. I’m guessing the rush was over.
      2. This is not a small business.
      Just sayin’.

      December 23, 2011 at 1:45 pm

    • Lyn

      To add, I was on hold 28 minutes over 4 months after purchasing my bcor fitness deal. You can’t compare them to most small businesses and there was no disclaimer of wait time due to high volume.

      May 12, 2012 at 3:11 pm

Leave a Reply

