Chronicles of Less Urban Living, Fresh from In the Night Farm

Where has Lent Gone?

I am not Catholic.  I am pissed off.  I am giving up Monsanto for Lent.

This is Day…oh, I can’t remember.

Sorry, everyone.  Did you think Monsanto had me assassinated?  Too many weeks have passed since I posted in this series, not because I’m being pursued (erm, as far as I’m aware…) but just because my real job has taken up too much time and energy for all the research that such posts require.

I have, however, maintained my Lenten sacrifice, if that’s a fair word for doing my health a favor, of avoiding supporting Monsanto.  I wasn’t perfect; I did partake of questionable food a couple times while at a horsemanship clinic, and it’s possible that the winter riding boots I ordered on winter closeout contain some GMO-influenced fibers.    But, by and large, I think I’ve done well.

The thing is, it’s not that hard.  Eating Monsanto-free is (for now, but look out!) pretty darned similar to standard paleo.  You can even throw in grassfed dairy, if you wish…until that GMO alfalfa sneaks into the fields…and the pesticides from non-organic farms leach and waft into your “safe” garden…and genetically modified animals become commonplace…

The non-food goods, though (cotton and ethanol for a start) are tough, if not impossible, to avoid.  You can’t escape the fact that just about anything we purchase supports Monsanto in some way, if only through the GMO-corn-based ethanol that was burned to manufacture and transport it.

So, what are you going to do about it?

Start by keeping tabs on the situation.  “Like” Millions Against Monsanto on Facebook to get a steady (but not overwhelming) stream of updates on GMO products and politics.

BUT…don’t fall into the popular trap of believing you’re changing something simply by spending more time thinking about it.  As one savvy commenter noted in response to this controversial post, “raising awareness” is the means by which people make themselves believe they’re accomplishing something when they aren’t.

You have to actually DO something.  What’ll it be?

3 responses

  1. Michelle

    Great post, and very interesting experiment altogether. Thank you!

    May 11, 2011 at 4:31 am

    • Michelle

      P.S. Do you have any suggestions on how we could avoid Monsanto in our clothing choices?

      May 11, 2011 at 4:32 am

      • Thanks, Michelle. With clothing, cotton seems to be the issue — so avoiding cotton or cotton blends would keep you from purchasing GMO products directly. Unfortunatlely, I think you’d have to stitch together wild animal hides to avoid supporting Monsanto in ANY way, as even synthetic clothing requires fuel to produce and ship, and that fuel contains ethanol, which contains GMO corn…

        May 11, 2011 at 6:52 am

Leave a Reply

