Chronicles of Less Urban Living, Fresh from In the Night Farm

Cream? Sugar? Glyphosate?

I am not Catholic.  I am pissed off.  I am giving up Monsanto for Lent.

This is Day 17.

The coffee I’m sipping is organic.  When I bought it, I wasn’t sure that was important, but a little reading has assured me that it is.

It seems that glyphosate, the active ingredient in Monsanto’s Roundup, is a favorite herbicide for use on coffee plantations.  Glyphosate has the unfortunate effect of significantly reducing microbial populations in the soil, leading to poor soil quality, defenseless trees, and the need for even more chemical herbicides and fertilizers.

It also has the even more unfortunate effect of endangering human and animal health.

Furthermore, coffee trees grown in full sun are deprived of natural predators for their pests, which means they require even MORE chemical application for continued production.

Looks like I’d better make sure my next pound of coffee is not just organic, but shade-grown.

…and fair-trade.  Tomorrow’s post explains why.

Bonus note:  I usually drink my coffee black, but if you add anything to yours, bear in mind…

  • Flavored and non-dairy coffee additives nearly always contain GM HFCS and/or soy.
  • Non-organic cream is usually laced with rBGH.
  • Half of the sugar sold in the U.S. is from sugarbeets, 90% of which are GM.  If you must use sugar, choose organic cane.

_____________________

Catch up on any Monsanto Project Series posts you’ve missed.

6 responses

  1. I’m super jacked about this, and tomorrow’s, post! Fitness and nutrition aside, I think coffee is one of my favorite topics.

    Awesome info on the glycophosate!

    *sips black, organic, fair trade, shade grown, fresh ground coffee*

    March 25, 2011 at 8:42 am

    • *jealous of your coffee* (I finished mine hours ago.) 😉 Glad to have you reading!

      March 25, 2011 at 10:31 am

  2. Kim

    This series has been/is so informative! I appreciate all the work you’ve put into it, even though the information you uncover and share is enough to cause nightmares.

    Thank you!

    March 25, 2011 at 9:22 am

    • Thanks, Kim. It’s comments like this that make it worth the effort. 🙂

      March 25, 2011 at 10:32 am

  3. Rosanne

    Reading this makes me glad that I don’t drink coffee. I drink herbal teas with a touch of organic honey. 🙂

    March 26, 2011 at 11:34 am

Leave a Reply

