Chronicles of Less Urban Living, Fresh from In the Night Farm

Liver Pills

I am not Catholic.  I am pissed off.  I am giving up Monsanto for Lent.

This is Day 16.

One of the pleasant side effects of this Monsanto Project is that it has refocused my energy on finding new sources of safe, affordable, nourishing food.  This has led me to experiment with raw dairy, fermentation, and my most recent interest:  organ meat.

I started with a 2.34 pound hunk of local, grass-fed beef liver.  Slicing the shuddering, bloodred, gelatinous mass was entertaining, and the dogs enjoyed lapping up the raw milk I used to marinate the meat.  Ugly as it had been in its raw form, the liver looked pretty decent fried it up in plenty of bacon grease with caramelized onions and garlic.  It was crispy on the outside and tender to the knife.

Ironman and I really wanted to like it…but we didn’t.  The flavor was tolerable, but that “creamy” texture?  Eww.  I’m pretty sure meat should not be creamy. 

Or as Ironman called it, “glipey.”

Fortunately, I’d been listening to Chris Kresser podcasts and borrowed his plan for ingesting the 1.89 pounds of liver we didn’t care to choke down.  (Sure, I could “hide” liver bits in meatballs and marinara, but why bother?  I want to enjoy my food, not simply bear it.)  I chopped the cooked organ into tiny pieces and froze them in a single layer on waxed paper.

Now, all we have to do is swallow them whole.  Voila!  All the nutrition and none of the pain.  Liver pills!

…not to be confused with Carter’s Little Liver Pills, a form of the laxative stimulant bisacodyl that was popular up through the mid-1960’s.  Want a giggle?  Check out their radio ad from the ’40’s.

13 responses

  1. LOL, you are so funny. We LOVE liver ’round here. It’s sooooo good and all three of us, including my 12 year old daughter, gobble it down with gusto. I don’t soak it or anything, just fry it in butter and then saute onions to eat over top. Glad you at least don’t have to waste it.

    March 24, 2011 at 1:40 pm

    • 😀 I wish I loved it! We SO wanted to like it, but alas. Your kids are lucky — they’ll grow up with that acquired taste.

      March 24, 2011 at 1:48 pm

  2. Jan

    IMHO anything that tastes like garbage IS garbage! 😛 (Need a gaggy-face here.) Chocolate = Yum. Liver = Yuck. Don’t force yourself to ingest that Yuck.

    March 24, 2011 at 6:26 pm

    • Agreed — food is fuel, but should be pleasurable as well. The liver has been downgraded to pill status. Chocolate, however, does not qualify for tonight’s main course. 😛

      March 24, 2011 at 8:23 pm

  3. I can’t handle liver either, but my hubby likes it. The pill idea is great! Now maybe I will cook some for him and just turn my portion into pill form LOL

    March 24, 2011 at 9:27 pm

    • 😀 Fortunately, it’s not too bad to cook (IMO) — just to chew.

      March 25, 2011 at 5:30 am

  4. I love liver, but my wife does not. Maybe I can get her to try it this way.

    March 25, 2011 at 9:14 am

    • Seems like a perfect solution!

      March 25, 2011 at 10:31 am

  5. Pingback: Ancient Culture « NightLife

  6. Pingback: Check the Links… | Pure Spontaneity

  7. Catcreek

    Hi, I’m a new reader of your blog.

    Just wanted to throw in my 2 cents about liver. I can’t stand it, at least not fried the usual way, but since I know it’s nutritious and I get a load of it from the grass-fed beef I buy, I’d best eat it.

    So, what I do is turn it into paté, I’ll use a couple of different livers — beef and chicken or other offal, fry it up in the pan with lard, butter, onions, mushrooms, and whatever spices you enjoy, then purée into paté! I divide it up into batches and freeze what I won’t keep in the fridge. It’s really tasty this way and doesn’t have that icky texture. Of course if you’re not eating bread you’ll have to spread it on less conventional things (on a bit of onion is yummy, or celery or just on its own.)

    Enjoy!

    April 7, 2011 at 8:36 pm

    • Thanks for the ideas! I’ve been considering pate (I have more liver in my freezer, too), but wasn’t sure on what to serve it. Crudites, I suppose?

      April 8, 2011 at 6:56 am

  8. Pingback: Liver Pill Supplementation | Mark's Daily Apple Health and Fitness Forum page

Leave a Reply

