Chronicles of Less Urban Living, Fresh from In the Night Farm

Growing Threat

I am not Catholic.  I am pissed off.  I am giving up Monsanto for Lent.

This is Day 15.

You’ve heard that Monsanto’s Roundup Ready alfalfa was approved in January 2011, right?  This worries me even more than GM corn, papaya, or cotton.  I can avoid consuming those.  It’s not easy, but it can be done.

But as this article states, GM alfalfa threatens the pinnacle of paleo eating — grassfed meat:

“Alfalfa is an insect-pollinated crop.  There is no way to prevent cross-contamination from fields planted with Monsanto’s GMO alfalfa to other fields. These genes will contaminate the rest of America’s alfalfa crops within a few years.”

Grassfed cattle are often overwintered on alfalfa.  So are my endurance horses.

I am Not. Pleased.

Read more from Grist, and note the breaking news that California is fighting back.

2 responses

  1. This scares me as well!! Insane!

    March 23, 2011 at 8:46 pm

    • Yeah. Wait ’til I get to the post about what GM plants have done to other livestock. 😦

      March 23, 2011 at 8:49 pm

Leave a Reply

