Chronicles of Less Urban Living, Fresh from In the Night Farm

Farm Facade

I am not Catholic.  I am pissed off.  I am giving up Monsanto for Lent.

This is Day 4.

It’s an easy day for me.  I won’t  be leaving In the Night Farm, except to ride, so I run no risk of directly exchanging money for Monsanto. 

Indirectly, though, I still participate.  My refrigerator and furnace whirr softly.  Later, I will cook breakfast on a stove.  I’ll call my well pump into action to water the horses.  How much GM corn ethanol is burned to keep the hydroelectric plants running to bring me electricity?  To ship my organic food?

And beyond the borders of my farm, the horror continues.

Read all posts in the Monsanto Project Series.

Resource du Jour:  Want more?  Watch The Future of Food, a full-length feature that expands on the video above.  Netflix has it. 

Leave a Reply

