Chronicles of Less Urban Living, Fresh from In the Night Farm

Funny Business

I am not Catholic.  I am pissed off.  I am giving up Monsanto for Lent.

This is Day 2.

I have a fantastic assistant.  At my real job, I mean.  Not for blogging.  (Alas.)

Said assistant is accustomed to my strange ways.  When I hold meetings, she special-orders me meaty, eggy, oil-dressed salads to enjoy while everyone else scarfs sandwiches or pasta alfredo.

And yet, even she raised her eyebrows at me today.

I asked her to cancel my special lunch order for today’s meeting.  Why?  Because almost every catered salad is a veritable Monsanto’s Delight:  GM vegetables, rBGH-laced bleu, commerical chicken raised on GM corn, and dressing consisting of flavored GM canola and high fructose corn syrup.  Yum yum.

If I want to avoid Monsanto, I’m going to have to prepare my own meals.  All of them.

And so, I shall bemuse a roomful of people by sitting at the head table during a working lunch, eating my homemade salad of wild salmon, organic spinach and avocado, and Carlson’s lemon-flavored fish oil from an enormous plastic tub.

And Monsanto won’t get a penny for it.  Ha.

Speaking of Monsanto, this video is worth your 10 minutes:

Kinda makes you wonder what else we aren’t supposed to know.

Homework:  Share the video on Facebook, if you feel it’s important.  And visit the Millions Against Monsanto page.

_______________

See all posts in the Monsanto Project Series.

9 responses

  1. Well God bless those folks for standing up for their principals. I’ve known for years that listening to or watching the news is futile because you are only hearing what the editor, or the highest paying bidder wants you to hear. This confirms it. How sad and sickening. I’m thankful for the internet where an intelligent human being can dig and research and find out the truth. We are in a very rapid downward spiral, and we gain speed every day.

    March 10, 2011 at 7:48 am

    • Indeed. And did you notice the date on the video? I wonder how much worse things are now.

      March 10, 2011 at 8:31 am

  2. Kim

    Wow. I really feel horrible after watching that, mostly because my family’s farm used that particular drug to increase milk production. I even administered some of it myself….. 😦

    March 11, 2011 at 8:54 am

    • 😦 You can’t help what you didn’t know.

      Now you know. And here is where the work begins. 🙂

      March 11, 2011 at 8:58 am

  3. Kim

    And work it is. I am astonished as to how far Monsanto’s claws have dug into our society and way of life. They affect almost everything we buy/eat/use. Quite frankly I’m disgusted.

    March 11, 2011 at 10:59 am

  4. Wow that is sure eye opening! Makes me glad I live in Canada. I wonder if Monsanto is involved with any other parts of our agriculture though? I live in ranch country and have family who are cattle and grain producers and have never heard of Monsanto but that doesn’t mean much I guess. Off to do research…

    March 13, 2011 at 12:50 pm

    • Ah, now Canada makes for an interesting tale. Stay tuned for an upcoming post.

      March 13, 2011 at 2:27 pm

      • LOL I’m almost scared to read it 😀

        March 13, 2011 at 7:05 pm

  5. Pingback: Weekly Links | Thor Falk

Leave a Reply

