Chronicles of Less Urban Living, Fresh from In the Night Farm

Fighting Mad(ness)

God help me, because I cannot help myself. 

I cannot help myself from bringing this up again.

I cannot help walking through this pink-beribboned world with my eyebrows hitched up to my hairline, agog at the depth to which the quest for The Cure has sunk.

Pink buckets of Kentucky Fried Chicken.  Limited edition Kit Kat bars for Breast Cancer Awareness Month.  Survivor photos on boxes of Cinnamon Toast Crunch and Totino’s frozen pizza.

Check out Susan G. Komen for the Cure’s Million Dollar Council Elite, which includes such health-promoting superstars as:

ACH Food Companies, proud purveyor of :  Karo pancake syrup (63g carbohydrate/serving.  Good lord!  We haven’t even added the pancakes yet!), Fleischmann’s sourdough bread mix (29g), and Henri’s Light French Low Fat Homestyle Dressing (13g).

Frito Lay, promoting “sensible snacking” on:  Doritos nacho flavor (17g), Cracker Jack (23g), and Grandma’s Homestyle Oatmeal Raisin Big Cookies (25g.  Each.).

General Mills, bringing you:  Haagen-Dazs vanilla milk chocolate bars (22g), Progresso Healthy Classics Split Pea Soup (30g), and Cheesy Enchilada Hamburger Helper (36g.  No wonder that poor hamburger needs help!)

And the ever-popular Yoplait, featuring: Original Strawberry Yogurt (33g), Blueberry Pomegranate Smoothie mix (19g), and Cotton Candy/Strawberry Kiwi Trix Yogurt (20g in a satisfying, 4-oz serving for the kids).

It gets better.  Want to know who sponsors the Race for the Cure?  Here’s a selection:

  • American Italian Pasta Company
  • Dove Chocolate
  • Dr. Pepper Snapple Group
  • Freed’s Bakery
  • Pepperidge Farm
  • Otis Spunkmeyer

Processed, damaged, unnatural fats.  Grains.  Added sugars.  Chemical sweeteners, preservatives, and additives.  Addictive “food” products that make people sick.

Seriously?

Sorry, pink people, but any organization that’s willing to slap its logo on any godawful product whose manufacturer wants to cash in on the marketing power of pink — including the very products that help cause the disease said organization supposedly exists to eliminate — has sold its soul.

Read that italicized phrase again.  Ponder motivation.  And draw your own conclusions.

_______________________

P.S.   I know Komen does some cool stuff, like assisting families with practical needs while their loved ones are in treatment.  But at what cost? 

P.P.S.  You are welcome to disagree with me.  But before you get furious, please take the time to understand my position by reading previous posts on the subject of cancer and its prevention:

Cancer for a FortnightBefore Early DetectionIn the Beginning:  The Cancer-Inflammation Connection, Only YOU Can Prevent Inflammation, Supply Lines:  The Importance of AngiogenesisShort-Circuit:  Inhibiting Angiogenesis Naturally, Please Don’t Feed the Cancer, Blaming the Victim?, Crap for the Cure.

P.P.P.S.  Great quote from this article:  “If breast cancer could be cured by shopping, it would be cured by now.”  Cheers, Ms. Brenner.

____________________

My Medicine, My Food:  Black coffee, 3-egg omelet with butternut, onion, and spinach; steamed carrots, brussels sprouts, and broccoli with pastured butter; raw spinach, tuna, dill pickle, onion, black olives, and fish oil dressing; braised lamb shanks, wilted red chard, roasted onions and garlic.  Green and red teas.  Ume plum concentrate.  Whiskey.

Workout:  1.5 mile walk, plus some light stretching and “baby” calisthenics.  (Hey, I’m only 6 days out from a major soft tissue injury.)

14 responses

  1. Well said, Tamara. I thought, as I was shopping at Martin’s (local grocery) the other day, how the world seemed tinted by rose-colored glasses. Too much pink. Even though I am aware of the dangers of processed food and I avoid them, it was still good to be enlightened by the sordid co-mingling of this Campaign and the cancer-causing “foods”. Disgusting.

    Keep up the baby calisthenics, and the walks, and the stellar diet, and you should feel much better! Get well soon!

    January 16, 2011 at 10:48 am

    • Thanks, Carmen. Glad I’m not the only one thinking this way.

      January 16, 2011 at 10:55 am

  2. This was a great post and something I hadn’t even considered regarding the whole “Cure” movement. Thank you for bringing this point to light. Feel better soon!

    January 16, 2011 at 11:48 am

    • Thanks, Maurabela, and welcome!

      January 16, 2011 at 11:59 am

  3. Whiskey!

    Cool factor just went up by 10. My father-n-law introduced me to single-barrel/small batch bourbon (in my world, it’s still Paleo!), and I have never looked back. It’s actually kinda hard to find around here, since everything is about rye whiskey. Evan Williams Single Barrel and Marker’s Mark are my favs.

    No apologies needed at any time to write about this topic—it’s maddening, especially when the science behind anti-angiogenesis and ketogenic diets and cancer is SO EFFECTIVE that it’s regularly used in Europe, yet North Americans continue to pound tons of sugar and have the mindset that cancer is “inevitable”.

    It makes me grind my teeth; I posted a bit on this back in Sept: http://confessionsofacrossfitcoach.blogspot.com/2010/09/morrisons-take-on-nutrition-ketogenic.html

    January 16, 2011 at 12:01 pm

    • LOL, Mike! Jameson is my preference — less sweet. Too bad it’s also more expensive! 😦

      Thanks for your comment re “no apologies needed.” I’m a little gun shy because I’ve lost several real-life friends (“friends”?) over these blog posts…but SOMEONE needs to point out the truth. Too many people are suffering and dying of preventable diseases. Your post is dead on.

      January 16, 2011 at 1:00 pm

  4. Excuse my poor english. (from sweden)

    I must say that you really motivate me to be quite militant in my beliefs about food and health.

    Me too have “lost” a good deal of friends during my time.

    We must start to think more by ourself not by big companies.

    Thanks for great post, as always.

    January 16, 2011 at 1:09 pm

    • Cheers, Peter. Your English is just fine. 🙂 Glad to have you reading!

      January 16, 2011 at 1:32 pm

  5. Rosanne

    You are a brave woman. I am sure the Koman people do some wonderful work. However, I am a little sick of the whole breast cancer awareness issue. I think we all are aware of it (unless one lives under a rock), and I’m certain we all know someone who has been stricken with this dreadful disease. I can only suppose that the Komen people want to raise more money-no matter the source.

    January 17, 2011 at 11:43 am

    • I agree with you! There is no need to “raise awareness” on this issue anymore. I seem to recall noting in my infamous “Crap for the Cure” post that there isn’t a rock big enough that you could hide under it and still not be “aware” of breast cancer.

      January 17, 2011 at 11:47 am

  6. Sarah

    Ugh, it’s so true. I cannot believe the lows advertising has stooped to in order to get customers. & what’s with the campaign lately telling everyone it’s okay to not like vegetables; you can just eat lots of fruit & veg juice? I don’t watch a lot of commercials (we watch online), but I’ve seen a lot of this lately. “There’s an entire serving of veggies in our canned pasta!” Okay, so where are the other seven servings going to come from for today?

    UGH THE WORLD. IT HURTS TO THINK ABOUT.

    January 19, 2011 at 9:59 am

    • Amen, sister! Sometimes it makes me want to move to the mountains, live off wild game, and pretend society doesn’t exist! That not being an option, I find myself trying to fight back instead.

      January 19, 2011 at 10:13 am

  7. Pingback: Too Much of a Good Thing: Estrogen and Breast Cancer « NightLife

  8. Pingback: Crap for The Cure « NightLife

Leave a Reply

