Chronicles of Less Urban Living, Fresh from In the Night Farm

31 Things You May Have Suspected

I am shamelessly stealing this post idea from Matt at Three New Leaves.  He’s decided to be more “himself” on his blog, starting with a list of 31 things his readers didn’t previously know about him. 

I’m a big fan of the “visible” blogger.  Information is a fantastic.  It’s the reason I subscribe to over 70 sites.  But my favorite blogs offer something more:  personality.  And so, in the spirit of holiday cheer, here are 31 things you may or may not want to know about me:

1.  The corkscrew shape of those energy-saving lightbulbs creeps me out.  Luckily, wine corkscrews do not have this effect.

2.  I have a master’s degree in Writing Popular Fiction.  For real.

3.  Years ago, I made a conscious decision to start saying things that need to be said.  This has pissed off a lot of people, but it has also done a lot of good.

4.  I do not own a single piece of fine jewelry. 

5.  But I do have a nice handgun.

6.  Her name is Annie.  Partly after Annie Oakley, the wild west sharpshooter, and partly because that was the name of my childhood security blanket.  (Yes, my blankie had a name.  Didn’t yours?) 

7.  Somewhere during my transition from “good little girl” to “grown-up,” my favorite color changed from blue to red.  Coincidence?

8.  I’m really, really good at ignoring office treats.  Unless they happen to be homemade cheesecake.  Remember the Healthy/F-Off Scale?  Step away from my cheesecake.  (See #5.)

9.  I have written three novels.  The first one is decent.  The second one sucks.  The third isn’t done yet.  (Okay, so I’ve written two novels.  So far, the unfinished third is the longest.)  The novel is my favorite form, but while I’m a good writer, stylistically, I’m not the world’s best plot creator.  Alas.

10.  I wish children could be born at about the age of seven.  Four or five would be okay.

11.  I am not spontaneous, particularly when it comes to social events.  I enjoy being social, but I must be mentally prepared for it.  I once heard that an introvert draws energy from being alone, while an extrovert draws energy from being with others.  I fall into the former category.

12.  My favorite Christmas story is The Best Christmas Pageant Ever by Barbara Robinson.  I read it every year.  Sometimes, it makes me cry.

13.  It is my observation that political correctness frequently cohabitates with cowardice and intellectual inconsistency.  Say what you mean, people.  And mean what you say.

14.  Thirty-one things is a lot of to come up with.  *ahem*  …with which to come up.  So sayeth the grammar geek, who notes that the corrected version still ends with a preposition, and that the word “that” is often included unnecessarily.

15.  I deal with blog jealousy, too.  (Matt?  You’re not alone.)

16.  I almost never watch TV, but I can’t help liking I Love Lucy.  Maybe because I wish life really was that simple.

17.  There is no one on the planet more ignorant than I of all things pop culture.  Music?  Movies?  Leno?  Huh???  (Is Leno still on?  See…I told you!)

18.  I treasure my blog readers.  I’m honored that you take the time to read my posts, and your comments often make my day.  Your tweets and likes are like water in a desert.  You other writers know exactly what I’m talking about.

19.  I would no more cut off my hair than my toes.

20.  I am ridiculously proud that I can do more pushups and pullups than most men.  Seriously, who cares?  Probably just me.  But I care a lot.

21.  I used to be slightly afraid of chickens.  Now that I have a dozen, I really like them.

22.  There are very few things about which I don’t want to know more.  Computer programming and daytime television are two of them.

23.  I wish I had a better sense of fashion.

24.  I’m really good at baking bread.  It’s one of the few things I miss since going paleo (the baking, that is, more than the eating).

25.  Nothing irritates me more than people who aren’t willing to even consider ideas that challenge their own.  You don’t have to agree with me, but for god’s sake, take the time to hear — really hear — what I’m saying, and why.  I hope I’ll do the same for you.

26.  Christmas is my favorite holiday.  I know this makes me “one of the lucky ones” in so many ways, and I am grateful.

27.  If I ever have children, I have two names in mind.  Both could be used for either gender. 

28.  My cat likes to be held and adored, but not smothered or confined.  I understand this perfectly.

29.  My horses choose carefully who they will honor with their presence and trust.  I understand this, too.

30.  I am not a math person, yet two of my favorite undergrad courses were “Conceptual Physics” and “Economics.”  Ah, the power of a skilled teacher.

31.  I feel really dorky coming up with these 31 things.  Fellow bloggers, please don’t let me and Matt be the only ones!

_________________________

Friend the farm on Facebook.

14 responses

  1. I thought this was interesting! I think I will do this myself at my own blog next week, it looks fun. 🙂

    December 20, 2010 at 2:52 pm

    • Thanks — it was fun…but hard, too!

      December 20, 2010 at 2:53 pm

  2. Kim

    Thanks for sharing! Its good to find out more about the person behind the blog. But its also made me curious – what are the two names?

    December 21, 2010 at 7:52 am

    • Thanks, Kim. About the names…that’s classified! 😉

      December 21, 2010 at 8:18 am

  3. I’m a bit concerned when I read about how you wish kids were born at the age of 7. My daughter is turning one next week, which means I have another 4-6 years of mayhem to live through until things settle down? I’m thankful I only have one, because she is quite the handful at this stage trying to get into everything.

    December 21, 2010 at 2:44 pm

    • Don’t let me worry you too much, James…I base my comment purely on observation, not experience. May your daughter’s toddlerhood be pleasantly uneventful. 😉

      December 21, 2010 at 2:51 pm

  4. Pingback: Looking for Something? « The Barb Wire

  5. Fern

    I have been reading your blog for months now (but I never comment), I love your writing style and I LOVE your pictures. You have the most beautiful horses! About the pushups and pullups, I would be proud also, I have NEVER been able to do them and my brother makes fun of me but I am slowly working my way up and I will one day do more than he can.

    December 21, 2010 at 3:05 pm

    • Thanks for commenting, Fern! Seriously, comments are the best part of blogging — I appreciate every, single one. 🙂 Go get ’em on the pullups. It took me weeks to work up to my first real one.

      December 21, 2010 at 3:07 pm

  6. Dude, I can’t do these things even when it’s <10 things you didn't know about me. They end up being SO inane, like "I really do say dude way too much in real life."

    I miss baking pastry! I don't think I've ever been so proud of myself as the first time I made Beef Wellington with homemade puff pastry. 🙂

    I wish I had the courage to say things that need to be said. I am more of a "truthful, kind, necessary?" person. I hate conflict – but I think I'm slowly growing out of that.

    December 22, 2010 at 9:28 pm

    • Hello, I talked about lightbulbs! Puff pastry and conflict aversion are so much better. 🙂 Bring on the inane factoids!

      December 23, 2010 at 9:20 am

  7. Pingback: Merry Christmas Eve Eve! | happybeehive

  8. Painted Pony

    Hi, I usually read the Barb Wire and found the link to here over there. I think I tried to post a comment there once and couldn’t.

    I just want to remind you that hair grows back and toes do not. No reason to cut your hair, but it something should happen to it, it will grow back, more quickly than you think. I do think that a braid is the most practical hair style for working with horses.

    The last time I cut my hair I thought I would keep it up at shoulder blade level. I have a couple of decades on you and I’m not sure waist-length hair is appropriate when it starts getting streaked with gray, but there it is again. I never did care about my lack of fashion sense.

    I will get it trimmed so it doesn’t get shaggy. I hate long, shaggy hair. I will wait until spring to cut it (long hair is warmer in winter) and donate it to make wigs for people who do not have hair due to chemotherapy or a genetic defect, like I did the last time I cut it. Then maybe I will keep it short.

    January 7, 2011 at 4:29 am

    • What do you mean, my toes won’t grow back?!? 😉

      I’m with you on the long, shaggy hair thing. I’ve found that going pooless (no shampoo or other “products”) is excellent for hair health.

      Do let me know if you keep having trouble with comments on The Barb Wire! I have shut down commenting ability on the old Blogger TBW site, but haven’t heard of any issues with commenting on the WordPress site.

      January 7, 2011 at 8:40 am

Leave a Reply

