Chronicles of Less Urban Living, Fresh from In the Night Farm

Halfway to Forever

No sugar.  No grain.  No dairy.  No alcohol.  No, no, no, no, no!

It’s the 16th.  Ironman and I are halfway through our 30-Day Crackdown.  We aren’t alone.  All around the world, primals and paleos are engaged in variations on the Whole 30.

Just about everyone is singing its praises in terms of results, but there’s also a fair amount of talk (obsession?) about the “freedom” to come on Day 31. 

Shrug. 

I’m not feeling it.  I feel free now.

It’s an attitude thing.  For me, the 30 isn’t about a list of THINGS I WANT BUT WILL DENY MYSELF.  It isn’t about no-no’s or forbidden fruit, nor is it an exercise in willpower wielded as a weapon against guilt.

The 30 is an opportunity.  This is my chance to pour health into my body, to the exclusion of illness or even compromise.

Have you looked at my food logs lately?  I’m consuming 12-20 different varieties of produce per day, in addition to quality meats, fats, and a few nuts and seeds.  There simply isn’t room for Greek yogurt, let alone a donut.

It’s like running water into a bowl of vegetable oil.  The incoming nutrition leaves no space for crap, or even cravings.  The 30 is about what I’m pouring in, not what I’m pushing out, see?  That’s what makes it easy.

Eating this way is fascinating.  It is life-changing and life-giving.  I already know that 30 will not be enough.  Good thing it doesn’t need to be.

_______________________

My Food, My Medicine:  black coffee; green tea; salad: spinach, red leaf lettuce, red cabbage, parsley, celery, carrot, red onion, apple, pecans, and poached cod with a dressing of fish oil, olive oil, apple cider vinegar, turmeric, black pepper, potassium salt, and Italian herbs; steamed cauliflower, brussels sprouts, broccoli, carrots and olive oil over baked spaghetti squash; avocado; Barnyard Soup: onion, leeks, garlic, chicken stock, beef stock, vegetable stock, smoked ham hocks, tomato, sweet potato, turnip, carrot, rutabega, cabbage, parsnip, cayenne, thyme, sage, and bay.

Workout:  Rest day.

Leave a Reply

