Chronicles of Less Urban Living, Fresh from In the Night Farm

November in the Garden of Eating

Ironman and I have big plans for November.

To start with, he’s moving to the farm.  Hooray!

But BESIDES that, we have each (independently) arrived at the conclusion that it’s time to batten down the paleo hatches.  Our summer was fantastic.  We lived, as a friend of mine puts it, with passion.  Indeed, the ability to live passionately is the gift of fitness.

But superior fitness doesn’t come free.  If you want to get to the next level (or return to your preferred status after relaxing for a bit), you have to put some effort into it.  Here’s what we have in mind:

Deep-Six the Usual Suspects.  Sugar, grain, processed food.  Duh.  This will be pretty easy for me, as I’ve not strayed much on this front.  Ironman, who is less obsessive by nature and also more frequently confronted with opportunity to eat crap, will have to work harder.

Cut out the dairy, with the exception of pastured, organic butter.  (I’m doing some reading on this subject and may decide to skip the butter as well; stay tuned.)  For me, the Greek yogurt will be hardest to give up; for Ironman, it’ll be the coffee pollutants. 

Choose quality.  All grass-fed meats, all organic everything.  This one was Ironman’s idea, and he plans to be more strict about it than I.  I’ll be 100% at home (I’m about 80% at home now), but am willing to have a restaurant salad with conventional greens and chicken if I get stuck at a business meeting or some such.  Fortunately, I rarely eat out.  The coffee will be tough, though.  Going organic on coffee means giving up my favorite Rocket Java.  Cross your fingers that I can find beans that are extremely dark (darker than espresso), rich, full-bodied, not-too-acidic…and organic.

Toss the alcohol.  Up until a month ago, I drank only socially.  I’ve relaxed my standards lately, but now it’s time to get serious about nixing the stuff — social occasions included.  I know from experience that this makes a big difference in my training. 

Speaking of training…  This isn’t just about food.  With wet weather and dark evenings comes the cessation of outdoor play and a renewed focus on fitness goals.  Ironman and I are both planning to return to regular workouts.  My new, 10-day rotation will include:

  • 3 heavy lifting workouts
  • 2 bodyweight workouts, one focused on strength (max reps) and the other on muscle endurance (no rest between sets).  I’m basing these on Mark Sisson’s free Primal Blueprint Fitness e-book.
  • 1 sprint workout
  • 1 distance workout
  • 3 rest/play days

A few other things.  We’re pondering additional ways to reduce our toxin exposure.  Can we replace laundry detergent with something safer, but still effective?  House cleaning with vinegar and baking soda works pretty well.  I’m still pooless.  Tropical Traditions’ coconut oil soap is our newest darling.  What else, what else?  Like I said, we’re pondering.

Fine Print.  Ironman plans to go all out, making an exception only for Thanksgiving.  I’ll make the holiday exception as well, but will also need to ingest a few illicit bites in the form of taste-tests for a dinner party I’ve been hired to cater.  (Bad timing on that one!  It’s why I’m, sadly, not doing the Whole 30.)

So.  Why are we doing this, again?  The usual reasons.  Superior health.  Superior strength.  Looking superior naked.  Besides, it’s fun!

6 responses

  1. Amanda

    I really enjoy reading your blog – very inspiring…thanks!

    October 26, 2010 at 10:30 am

  2. Great idea on the deodarant. I might have to give that a go. For facial moisturizer, I have switched to a product that is made here locally by Montana Emu products, “Laid In Montana” is the actual line of products. You can find out about it here http://www.laidinmt.com/ . I use alot of their products. My favorite is the sensitive skin cream . You can use it for anything. I like it for nightime eye cream. Their Emugency product and their livestock Wound cream is another couple of favs of mine…

    October 29, 2010 at 7:09 pm

    • Thanks for the link — I’ll have a look!

      October 29, 2010 at 7:16 pm

  3. Pingback: Sweet Success « NightLife

  4. Pingback: Halfway to Forever « NightLife

Leave a Reply

