Chronicles of Less Urban Living, Fresh from In the Night Farm

Falling Forward

It’s autumn now.  Officially.

I have mixed feelings about this.  Historically, fall has been my favorite season:  crisp weather, bright colors, hot drinks, snuggly sweaters… What’s not to love?

Darkness, that’s what.  It messes with my playtime.  (Not to mention that those dratted sweaters, once beloved, now serve only to conceal my carefully-sculpted arms and abs.  Shameful waste!)

I leaped through last summer like it was a gigantic playground.  Equine endurance racing, whitewater rafting, horse training, and hiking all but replaced my formal workouts.  I spent as many days as possible outside from dawn ’til dark, soaking up sun (no sunscreen!) and fresh air.  But now, the last of those days are tumbling through my hands.  I cling to fading daylight hours, pouring myself into the final weeks before Daylight Wasting Time begins on November 7.  I’m still focused on outdoor work, particularly horse training, but I’ve also turned an eye to future goals.

Primal eating and abundant play have kept me very lean and reasonably strong, but there’s no question my lifts have suffered since spring.  My pushup counts have dropped by a third, my pullups by more than half.  Military presses and bench presses have hung in there, mostly, but squats have dropped and sprints slowed.

The impending winter will provide a perfect opportunity for me to shift back to an intense workout program.  Here’s what I’d like to accomplish by spring:

  • Squat 1.25 x bodyweight (For me, that’s about 145 lbs, which according to this website is nearly “advanced” for a woman my size.  I was up to 135 last season, so I think this is reasonable.)
  • Bench press 100 lbs.  (This falls between intermediate and advanced.  I was up to 3 x 85 last season.)
  • Military press 65 lbs.  (This also falls between intermediate and advanced.  I could do 5 x 55 last season.)
  • 12 dead-hang pullups. (My current PR, set last March, is 10.)
  • 50 pushups.  (My current PR was 3 x 35 decline [24 inches] pushups, so I can probably surpass this fairly easily.)

My pursuit of these goals will be made easier by the fact that Ironman will be in residence at In the Night Farm.  Why?  Because I’ll have a spotter!  Last season, most of my workouts were limited to efforts I could safely attempt alone.

Having Ironman around will be good for motivation, too.  That’s not an area in which I normally struggle, but hey, a little competition never hurt.  We keep each other on our toes.

How about you?  I’m not the only one considering new goals for the season, am I?

10 responses

  1. Yes, racing daylight for these last few weeks but I am seeing that I also beginning to lose that race. I managed to get through two sessions of P90X between last December and June. I was quite pleased with the results. I’ll probably start out this year with a 60 day run of Insanity by Sean T and then maybe back to a modified P90X combined with a customized workout of sprints, pulls up, pushup, bowflex, squats, etc. Time to get back into the “habit” again.ugghhh… oh well, there won’t be anything else to do when it’s dark by 5:00 p.m. right?

    September 24, 2010 at 10:46 pm

    • Exactly — it’s dark anyway, might as well enjoy the time in other ways! I do feel the “pull” to get back to more formal workouts. As fun as playing all summer is, I miss the hard effort of sprints, lifting, and bodyweight work. Besides, just think what a strong and sexy rider you’ll be come spring! 🙂

      September 25, 2010 at 6:39 am

  2. Jess

    Being in New Zealand daylight savings has just started and I am totally relishing all the extra light. Riding, dog walking, gardening – bliss. Still keeping up my formal workouts though, have got myself into a pretty good schedule that I’m going to try and stick with. My new bikini arrived in the post today and that’s all the motivation I need!! I’m psyched I get to show off my abs ha ha!

    October 1, 2010 at 1:14 am

    • I’m jealous! Enjoy your sunshine and bikini! 🙂

      October 7, 2010 at 12:33 pm

  3. Hey Barbygirl…Up here in Alberta the sun hides earlier than it did a few months ago and I find that I do a bunch more reading at this time of year. Here and there I take the four legged companion out for a stroll while I listen to a podcast, or simply walk and enjoy the sounds of fall because everyone else is hiding so it’s quiet now.
    The goals are certainly attainable. I have female high school students who are able to push that weight and they are about the same size. Mostly, we work on a bunch of body weight stuff combined with low rep/heavy lifting. Personally, I have been doing a strength phase and my numbers have been going up very fast with a bunch of food to support the recovery.
    You can do it…remember, strong is the new sexy!

    I will be watching.

    October 5, 2010 at 8:15 pm

    • Thanks, Karl! Glad it looks reasonable. And I hear you on enjoying the extra time to read — I’m doing that, too. 🙂

      October 7, 2010 at 12:32 pm

  4. “Daylight Wasting Time.” I think I’ve heard of that before . . .

    October 8, 2010 at 6:54 pm

    • A favorite professor once told me, “Bad writers borrow. Good writers steal.”

      October 8, 2010 at 8:54 pm

  5. Pingback: It’s Almost Past My Playtime « NightLife

  6. Pingback: November in the Garden of Eating « NightLife

Leave a Reply

