Chronicles of Less Urban Living, Fresh from In the Night Farm

Who’s With Me?

In case you still haven’t heard, the annual Primal Blueprint 30-Day Challenge starts TODAY over at Mark’s Daily Apple.  For the next month, Mark will be posting daily contests (last year, I won some  coconut oil, fish oil, coconut vinegar, and a yoga mat!) in addition to posts elaborating on how to better apply Primal Blueprint principles to daily life.

So, how about it?

If you’ve been sneaking around the edges of primal living, dipping your toes in, considering the plunge…why not now?  It’s only 30 days, after all:  30 days of clean eating (lots of plants and animals; no grains, sweeteners, or processed foods) and physical activity (frequent easy motion, some lifting of heavy things, and a bit of sprinting).  If you don’t “look, feel, and perform” better (to quote Robb Wolf) after 30 days, then you can go back to your usual eating habits and know you gave it an honest shot.  No harm, no foul. 

If you’re already primal, why not bump things up a notch?  This is tough for me, as I already went “all in” earlier this summer and don’t have much left to change.  However, I’m going to take this opportunity — conveniently balanced on the cusp of the seasons — to shift back toward my more formal, winter workout schedule.  That means 2 heavy lifting plus 1 sprint session per week, minimum, in addition to continued summer activities such as horse training and extra farm work.  (I’ll further increase the formal workouts in October, when I lose the daylight I need for farming.)

I’ll also tighten up my diet a bit, moving further along the spectrum from primal toward paleo, again reducing such items as dairy (once I finish off the small amount of cheese and Greek yogurt in my refrigerator, I won’t buy more), alcohol (social occasions only), and dark chocolate (meh, I can live without it for a month).  I’ve already reduced my nut consumption from 1-2 oz daily to 3-4 oz weekly, and will continue that trend. 

Let me be clear:  I don’t think there’s anything wrong with consuming any of the above in minimal to moderate quantites (depending on individual reaction and goals).  However, I do believe there’s great benefit in eliminating common “problem” foods (especially dairy) periodically, if for no other reason than to see how we feel without them.  After all, I never know how crappy grains made me feel until I eliminated them…and on that count, I don’t see myself ever going back!

How about you?  Are you going to take the challenge?  Why (or why not)?  What are your specific goals?  Do you have a plan?

Who’s with me?

4 responses

  1. Funder

    I’m just with you in spirit. I’m still eating primal (well, there was some pizza this weekend) but I just have TOO MUCH STUFF going on to commit to anything else. 

    I worked amazingly hard for four days straight this weekend, and I feel great today. I moved hundreds of pounds of sand, demolished a lot of junk, dragged wire fences out of the ground, etc. But I’m not sore at all! I am sure it’s all the clean primal living. 

    September 7, 2010 at 12:09 pm

  2. I discovered Mark’s Daily Apple last year through your blog. I train and condition my dogs to work at their best and felt I should expect the same of myself. Since then my eating habits have improved greatly, taking most grains from my diet was scary but the results were great! I’m looking forward to the next 30 days, there is a lot I can improve on. Thanks for introducing me to the primal world!

    September 7, 2010 at 12:54 pm

  3. Kath@eatingforliving

    I’ve turned almost directly to a rather strict Paleo eating-style (I eat butter and ghee, though, but no other dairy products), because I’ve always had problems with dairy for my whole life. During the first 1 or 2 weeks of Paleo eating, I still drank lactose-free milk with my tea because I wanted to finish off what I still had at home, but then I didn’t buy milk anymore – and felt better immediately! It was quite hard to give up the milk, because tea with milk always was my favorite recreation beverage, but now I have discovered almond milk (I make myself so it is completely raw, unsweetened, etc), and that’s a great alternative that works very well for me. 😀

    Usually, eating goes well, and I’m also quite strict due to health issues anyway, but I will try to increase my exercise levels. I’m already walking for an hour or so every day, but I want to hit the gym and do some weight lifting more regularly. If I get there 2 or 3 times a week, it would be great already.

    September 9, 2010 at 2:41 am

  4. Lisa

    I’m in. I’ve been flirting with idea if trying a Primal diet for some time, largely inspired by you, Tamara. Spent a lot of time lurking around MDA, and directed my exercise in that direction several months ago.

    My goal for the challenge is to increase the intensity when lifting weights, walk at least 40 minutes everyday, and eliminate all grains from my diet.

    Very excited to see where this journey leads – thanks for the inspiration!

    September 9, 2010 at 7:21 am

Leave a Reply

