Chronicles of Less Urban Living, Fresh from In the Night Farm

Primal Hamburger Casserole

Raise your hand if you’ve ever eaten Hamburger Helper. (Yes, I confess that my hand is up. But I haven’t touched the stuff in at least 4 years, and I rarely did so before that.)

Because my family lived on a small farm and raised a beef cow every year, I grew up eating a lot of ground beef. Though I never have come around to liking meatloaf, I do have fond memories of meaty spaghetti sauce, thick burgers, and hamburger casserole.

The problem with most hamburger casseroles, however, is that they tend to include pasta and/or beans, either of which renders them high-carb and un-primal. Fortunately, a dose of big flavor (in the form of herbs, olives, and especially sundried tomatoes) can primalize this meal with ease.

I’ve enjoyed this quick, one-dish casserole several times lately, including once over spaghetti squash fried in butter for a large dinner, and once for breakfast with an egg over easy on top. If you eat dairy, a sprinkle of parmisan or cheddar would make an excellent garnish. I used fresh herbs because my garden is bursting with them, but dried will work too if they’re all you have on hand.


Primal Hamburger Casserole

1/3 lb ground beef (not lean — we want those saturated fats!)
1/3 cup onion, julienned
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 mushrooms, sliced
10 black olives, sliced
10 sundried tomato halves, chopped
1 Tbs each fresh basil and oregano (or 1 tsp each dried)

Pre-heat skillet over medium flame. Add beef, onion, garlic, and mushrooms. Stir to crumble beef, and occasionally until meat is cooked. Add olives, sundried tomatoes, and herbs and cook about 1 minute until heated through. Serves 1.

6 responses

  1. Your family lived on a small farm? That must have been amazing! Really cool recipe as well.Anyway, you have a great blog here Tamara and I'm looking forward to following it.Cheers,-Rafi

    October 6, 2009 at 1:58 pm

  2. HAH – perfect ! I took hamburger out of the freezer this morning and was trying to figure out what to do with it. For the last week (or maybe a little more) I have really fallen off the wagon with the primal way of things. It finally caught up with me this past weekend when my energy was totally zapped and I felt all over crummy! Today, we are back in business. Thanks for the great recipe. Here is one that you may enjoy that I often eat for lunchFresh salad greens1 avocadogrape tomatoescooked cubed chickenbalsamic or red wine vinegar olive oila dash of feta or goat cheese(if you eat diary)Mix it all up and enjoy

    October 12, 2009 at 12:55 pm

  3. This recipe looks really good! I am going to try it out tomorrow night, see how mi familia enjoys it. Keep the yummy-ness coming!

    October 26, 2009 at 5:40 pm

  4. I've got a paleo food blog as well, if you ever want to check out my recipes.http://paleomama.com

    November 11, 2009 at 6:43 pm

  5. I found this in a google search for "primal hamburger recipe". I used a whole pound of burger and scaled it up. I added some sea salt and a small can of V-8 juice to moisten it. It was fabulous. We have some stuff in common. My hubby and I have a couple horses, a dog, a cat, and 4 chickens. We just went primal 3 weeks ago after reading Primal Body, Primal Mind by Nora Gesgaudes (sp?) I plan on ordering the Mark Sisson book on 3/17. Grok on!

    March 15, 2010 at 9:32 pm

Leave a Reply

