Chronicles of Less Urban Living, Fresh from In the Night Farm

(Not) Too Common

I’m thinking about entering Wednesday’s MDA contest.  It involves submitting my Primal success story, with photos.  The thing is, my success story isn’t dramatic.  I didn’t lose 100 pounds or put MS into remission or reverse type II diabetes.

On the other hand, I did get strong and sexy, and I solved a bunch of minor-but-persistent health issues that I was previously conditioned to accept as “they way things are.” 

So many people accept eczema, GI issues, heart disease, diabetes, acne, arthritis, hypoglycemia, mood swings, cravings, and myriad other conditions — not to mention the supposed age-induced creep of bat wings and spare tires — as “normal.”

These things are not normal.  They are common

My story is about being the exception.

Is yours?

PBC Day 4

Fuel: Coffee with heavy cream.  Grilled lamb chop and shrimp with pesto (no dairy) and garlic butter; herb-roasted potatoes, sweet potatoes, and onions.  Buttered spaghetti squash; stuffed pasilla.  Grilled grassfed burger (bunless) with smoked salt, avocado, bacon, and sauteed onions; cucumber-tomato salad with olive oil, vinegar, and dill.  Coconut cream concentrate.  Red wine.

Workout: 5x backsquats, bench presses, one-legged barbell squats, and military presses.  Feels fantastic to be back under the bar!  I also scurried about the farm for a while as soon as I got home from work, preparing for tan incoming thunderstorm that lasted half the night.  Rain!  And, I did a Feldenkrais lesson before bed.

4 responses

  1. Nicole

    I think you should definitely submit a success story! You have a way with words – nevermind the fact that it was YOUR success story that has prompted my family towards eating this way.

    September 16, 2011 at 8:06 am

  2. Go for it lass, your stories/writing are inspiring, soo…thanks.

    Don

    September 16, 2011 at 9:27 am

  3. I think you should go for it. Your blog was one of the main drivers in getting me to make the primal leap and get started last year. I was one of those people that had started to accept what was happening to my body as being normal until I started reading your site, MDA, Free the Animal, and so on.

    You’re not just a success story. You’re an ongoing influencer for people to make the switch which is even more important than someone’s before/after pictures.

    September 16, 2011 at 2:15 pm

    • *blush* Thanks, you guys. I keep doing this in the hope that it will make a difference to somebody. It means a LOT to hear that it actually has!

      September 20, 2011 at 6:30 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 86 other followers