Chronicles of Less Urban Living, Fresh from In the Night Farm

Sound and Bites

I got a nano! 

Yeah, yeah, everyone else on the planet already has one.  But you have to understand, I am SO not the music or technology type.  But I like podcasts.  And audiobooks.  And it’s so teeny-weeny cute!

I ordered it a little, red jacket for clipping to my shorts for long walks or hill sprints.  I set up speakers in my gym so I can listen while I lift.  Now I just need some good music and a pair of earphones that don’t 1) fall out or 2) hurt my ears.

#2 applies to both the music and the headphones.  Any suggestions?

PBC Day 3

Food as Fuel:  Coffee with heavy cream.  Eggs scrambled with pulled pork, peppers, onions, and tomatoes; plantain roasted in coconut oil.  Coconut cream concentrate.  Grilled lamb chops with walnut-pecan-mint-sundried tomato-raisin-olive oil pesto; grilled shrimp with garlic butter; herb-roasted purple potatoes, sweet potatoes, and onions; anaheim peppers stuffed with cheese, jalipenos, and sundried tomatoes.  Gin on the rocks.

Workout: Play day.  Took my endurance horse out for a quick, 8-mile ride.  Did the usual farm chores.  Set up iTunes and nano.  (Hey, for me, that was a workout.)

9 responses

  1. funder

    Did you know this isn’t showing up from the main page? Weird! Anyway, congrats on the nano! They are so amazingly tiny! No idea what genres you like – do you lift to loud rock music or ridiculous pop or 80s or what?

    September 15, 2011 at 8:34 am

    • Ok, that IS weird! I’ll see if I can figure out what’s wrong. Thanks!

      Re the music…see, my problem is that I don’t really know! If I’m going to listen to music, I usually choose classical, country, or late 50′s rock n roll. I also like the Avett Brothers and similar. And, I like a bunch of other random stuff, but I don’t know what it is! (lame, I know.) I need some high-energy but still melodic (definitely not hard rock, and not 80′s) stuff.

      September 15, 2011 at 8:39 am

  2. Minda

    These are my favorites:
    http://www.target.com/p/Sony-Slim-Over-the-Ear-Headphones-MDRW08L-Black/-/A-536766
    I’m on my 3rd pair over about 10+ years and they’re the only ones that hold while I work out and don’t make my ears sore (even though they have no padding.)
    Music is a much tougher question. I like to lift to Linkin Park but I have a feeling that won’t be your thing…

    September 15, 2011 at 9:17 am

  3. funder

    Well, now it is!

    September 15, 2011 at 11:20 am

  4. I generally listen to techno while working out because the thumping bass gives me an idea of pacing without having to count in my head or breath. I like listening to various podcasts found on iTunes because it keeps the music varied without having to think “What do I want to listen to?”
    My favourites are Tiesto’s Club Life podcast (the album by the same name is great, too). DJ Hardwell puts a great one too (search for him on Facebook). The best part with the podcasts is that they’re free, and there are podcasts for every genre of music (not to mention paleo ones).

    September 15, 2011 at 10:22 pm

  5. Jessica Rance

    Well I’m loving Kimbra and Ellie Goulding right now. Gotye is also good, Florence and the Machine, The Good Natured, Naked and Famous. Youtube is your friend. A nice glass of wine and a few hours. Start with something you know you like and see what comes up on the side bar. I’ve found all sorts of interesting music that way.

    September 15, 2011 at 11:50 pm

    • Thanks for the recommendations, all! I’ll check them out (YouTube is a great idea) and see what I find. Pandora might come in handy, too…

      September 16, 2011 at 8:05 am

  6. Jessica Rance

    And if you really want something to get you going Drum and Bass all the way!!
    Like this http://youtu.be/_TW__7lqo2E
    Or this http://youtu.be/nfFnU0FUGno

    September 16, 2011 at 3:46 pm

    • Thanks — I’ll have a listen!

      September 20, 2011 at 6:30 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 84 other followers