Chronicles of Less Urban Living, Fresh from In the Night Farm

At the Very Least

I’m reading this book.  It’s fascinating. 

Wheat Belly: Lose the Wheat, Lose the Weight, and Find Your Path Back to Health

In Wheat Belly, cardiologist William Davis, MD, explains how modern wheat — which is vastly different from its ancestors due to extensive modifications that were never safety-tested — not only contributes to bodyfat gain and chronic disease by damaging the gut lining (gluten) and spiking blood sugar more than ice cream or Snickers bars (carbohydrate, glycemic index), but it also stimulates appetite (gliadin) and activates the same pleasure centers in the brain as opiates like herion (exorphins).

If you’re not ready to give up all grains, at least read this book.  If you struggle to lose bodyfat, suffer from allergies or other autoimmune conditions, have skin problems like acne or eczema, deal with gastrointestinal issues from poor digestion to celiac, or worry about cancer or heart disease, at least read this book.

Just read it.  And make up your own mind.

PBC Day 2

Food as Fuel:  Coffee with heavy cream.  Pulled pork with grilled tomatillo salsa.  Grilled sirloin tip; cucumber and tomato salad with cotija, olive oil, and vinegar; green grapes.  Steamed mahi-mahi; squash ribbons with sage butter; baked sweet potato with grassfed butter.  Malbec.

Workout:  Bodyweight.  4x rotation of pushups, air squats, pullups, and planks.  Nothing too spectacular, but it definitely fried some muscle glycogen and made me a touch sore by morning.  Feels great. 

Incidentally, I was running late again last night (got stuck at the office for an impromptu meeting, then had an errand to run).  By the time I got home and did the farm chores, it was almost 7pm and I would really rather have settled into my evening relaxation routine of cooking dinner and sipping wine.  I just didn’t feel like I had the steam for a workout… but I put on my workout clothes instead, and proceeded to have a strong and enjoyable session.

That’s what usually happens.  As Nike would say, Just Do It.

2 responses

  1. A great name for a book! I’ve given up (ok, I have some cake on the weekend, as I love to bake) grains for a few months now and feel great. It just makes me very angry that after so many tests in the hospital and at the doctor surgery as to why I was not feeling well, not once did a doctor say ‘eliminate grains and see how you feel’. One even recommended that I eat MORE grains :|
    A lovely blog you have here:)

    January 25, 2012 at 11:56 pm

    • I hear you, MK! I can’t believe the pro-inflammatory food they recommend (and serve!) in hospitals. It’s appalling.

      On a happier note, glad to have you reading!

      January 26, 2012 at 11:06 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 86 other followers